Pinoy Driver

Types of Driver’s License: Classifications, Restrictions, and Conditions

Restriction codes are assigned for each type of motor vehicle the driver’s license applicant intends to operate. For example, restrictions 1, 2, and 4 are allowed for Non-professional driver’s license only.

Restriction code based on Gross Vehicle Weight* (GVW)

1 – Motorbikes or motorized tricycles

2 – Motor vehicle up to 4500 kg GVW

3 – Motor vehicle above 4500 kg GVW

4 – Automatic transmission up to 4500 kg GVW

5 – Automatic transmission above 4500 kg GVW

6 – Articulated vehicle 1600 kg GVW

7 – Articulated vehicle 1601 up to 4500 kg GVW

8 – Articulated vehicle 4501 kg and above GVW

Note: *Gross Vehicle Weight is the weight limit set by the automaker. It is the net weight of the vehicle plus the weight of any accessories, cargo, and passengers.


The applicant shall be assessed for certain conditions that might impair the driver’s capability to drive a vehicle safely. E.g., A mandatory eye exam will determine if the driver needs to wear eyeglasses (condition A) when driving.

A – Wear eyeglasses

B – Drive with special equipment for upper limbs*

C – Drive with special equipment for lower limbs*

D – Daylight driving only*

E – Should always be accompanied by a person without hearing impairment

Note: *Special driving conditions and special equipment to be used shall be the assessed by an LTO driver evaluator.

Carlos is a digital marketing and lead generation expert who has helped advocate driver education websites since 2012.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Advice, Car

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This